Back to Top


(Koninkrijk België (Dutch); Royaume de Belgique (French); Königreich Belgien (German) (Kingdom of Belgium))

Capital of Belgium : Brussels

Population (Estimated July 2012): 10,438,353

Area: 30,528km2 or 11,787mi2

Currency: Euro (€)

Official Language: Dutch; French; German

Political Information: Federal Parliament with Constitutional Monarchy

Official Religion: No Official Religion (approximately 75% of the population are Roman Catholic, 25% have other religious beliefs)

Highest Mountain: Botrange at 694m or 2,277ft


GDP Official Exchange Rate (OER is more precise at gauging a countries economic power)

(Estimated 2011): $529 billion (US$) or £317.4 billion(GBP)

GDP (OER) Per Capita (per member of the population estimated 2011): (US$) or (GBP)


GDP Purchasing Power Parity (PPP is good for gauging living conditions and use of resources but not as accurate as OER. This data has been calculated based on the sum value of all goods and services produced in the country valued at prices prevailing in the United States)  

 (Estimated 2011): $412 billion (US$) or £247.2 billion (GBP)

GDP (PPP) Per Capita (per member of the population estimated 2011): $37,600 (US$) or £22,560 (GBP)

  Time Zone (GMT/UTC): +1:00  

Counties/Provinces/States: 3 regions (French: regions, singular – region; Dutch: gewesten, singular – gewest); Brussels-Capital Region, also known as Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest (Dutch), Region de Bruxelles-Capitale (French long form), Bruxelles-Capitale (French short form); Flemish Region (Flanders), also known as Vlaams Gewest (Dutch long form), Vlaanderen (Dutch short form), Region Flamande (French long form), Flandre (French short form); Walloon Region (Wallonia), also known as Region Wallone (French long form), Wallonie (French short form), Waals Gewest (Dutch long form), Wallonie (Dutch short form)


Leaders: King PHILIPPE (since 21 July 2013); Heir Apparent Princess ELISABETH, daughter of the monarch; Prime Minister Charles MICHEL (since 11 October 2014); Deputy Prime Ministers Alexander DE CROO (since 22 October 2012), Jan JAMBON (since 11 October 2014), Kris PEETERS, Didier REYNDERS (since 30 December 2008)

Sources: CIA World Fact Book, Encyclopaedia Britannica.