Back to Top


(Latin: Scotia (land of the Scots))

Capital of Scotland: Edinburgh

Population (Estimated 2010): 5,220,000

Area: 127,528km²or 49,239mi2

Currency: Pound Sterling (£)

Official Language: English

Political Information: Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy

Official Religion:No Official Religion

Highest Mountain: Ben Nevis at 1,343m or 4,406ft


GDP Official Exchange Rate (OER is more precise at gauging a countries economic power)

(Estimated 2010): (US$) or 105,548 Million (GBP)


Time Zone (GMT/UTC): GMT

Counties/Provinces/States: 33 Counties; Aberdeenshire, Angus, Argyll, Banffshire, Berwickshire,Caithness, Clackmannanshire, County of Bute, County of Moray, Dumfriesshire, Dunbartonshire, East Lothian, Fife, Inverness-shire, Kincardineshire, Kinross-shire, Kirkcudbrightshire, Lanarkshire, Midlothian, Nairnshire, Orkney, Peeblesshire, Perthshire, Renfrewshire, Ross and Cromarty, Roxburghshire, Selkirkshire, Stirlingshire, Sutherland, West Lothian, Wigtownshire and Zetland (Shetland)


Leaders: H.M. Queen Elizabeth II, with First Minister Nicola Sturgeon.


Additional: Scotland has 790 islands of which only 130 are inhabited.

Sources: CIA World Fact Book, Encyclopaedia Britannica.