British Indian Ocean Territory

British Indian Ocean Territory


Capital of the British Indian Ocean Territories : N/A

Population (Estimated February 2012): 2,800 US and UK military personnel.

Area: 54,400 km2 or 21,004 mi2

Currency: United States Dollar (USD)

Official Language: English

Political Information: British Overseas Territory

Official Religion: No Official Religion

Highest Point: An unnamed region on Diego Garcia at 15m or 49ft




Counties/Provinces/States: Chagos Archipelago; (Islands)Danger, Diego Garcia, Eagle Island, Egmont Island, Nelson’s island, Peros Banhos, Salomon islands and Three Brothers.


Leaders: H.M. Queen Elizabeth II; Commissioner Mr Colin Roberts and
Mr John McManus as Administraitor


Additional: The territory includes the Chagos Archipelago and is made up of over 55 islands.

Sources: CIA World Fact Book, Encyclopaedia Britannica.

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.

Scroll to Top