(República de Colombia (Republic of Colombia))

colombian Flag
Colombian Map

Capital of Colombia: Bogotá

Population (Estimated July 2012): 45,239,079

Area: 1,141,748 km2 or 440,831 mi2

Currency: Peso (Col$)

Official Language: Spanish

Political Information: Unitary Presidential Constitutional Republic

Official Religion: No Official Religion (approximately 90% of the population are Roman Catholic and 10% have other religious beliefs)

Highest Mountain: Pico Cristóbal Colón or Pico Simón Bolívar both at 5,775m or 18,947


GDP Official Exchange Rate (OER is more precise at gauging a countries economic power)

(Estimated 2005): $321.5 billion (US$)

GDP Purchasing Power Parity (PPP is good for gauging living conditions and use of resources but not as accurate as OER. This data has been calculated based on the sum value of all goods and services produced in the country valued at prices prevailing in the United States)  

(Estimated 2011): $470.7 billion (US$)

GDP (PPP) Per Capita (per member of the population estimated 2011): $10,100 (US$)

Time Zone (GMT/UTC): -5:00

Counties/Provinces/States: 32 departments (departamentos, singular – departamento) and 1 capital district* (distrito capital); Amazonas, Antioquia, Arauca, Atlantico, Bogota*, Bolivar, Boyaca, Caldas, Caqueta, Casanare, Cauca, Cesar, Choco, Cordoba, Cundinamarca, Guainia, Guaviare, Huila, La Guajira, Magdalena, Meta, Narino, Norte de Santander, Putumayo, Quindio, Risaralda, San Andres y Providencia, Santander, Sucre, Tolima, Valle del Cauca, Vaupes, Vichada


Leaders: President Juan Manuel Santos with Vice President Angelino Garzón.

Additional: $470.7 billion (US$)


Sources: Independence from Spain was declared on the 20th of July 1810 but not recognised until the 7th of August 1819.

Scroll to Top