(Kyrgyz Respublikasy (Kyrgyz); Respublika Kirgizstan (Russian) (Kyrgyz Republic))

Kyrgyzstan (Kyrgyz Respublikasy (Kyrgyz); Respublika Kirgizstan (Russian) (Kyrgyz Republic))

Capital: Bishkek

Population (Estimated July 2012): 5,496,737

Area: 199,945 km2 or 77,199 mi2

Currency: Kyrgyzstan Som (KGS)

Official Language: Kyrgyz; Russian

Political Information: Parliamentary Republic

Official Religion: No Official Religion (approximately 75% of the population are Muslim, 20% are Russian Orthodox and 5% have other religious beliefs).

Highest Mountain: Jengish Chokusu (Victory Peak) at 7,439m or 24,406ft

Largest River:

Time Zone (GMT/UTC): +6:00



Counties/Provinces/States: 7 provinces (oblastlar, singular – oblasty) and 1 city* (shaar); Batken Oblasty, Bishkek Shaary*, Chuy Oblasty (Bishkek), Jalal-Abad Oblasty, Naryn Oblasty, Osh Oblasty, Talas Oblasty, Ysyk-Kol Oblasty (Karakol)


Leaders: President Almazbek Atambayev, with Prime Minister Omurbek Babanov.


Additional: Gained independence from the Soviet Union on the 31st of August 1991.

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top